Browsing, looking and waiting

I have been browsing job opportunities, since my graduation, 22nd of July, but started looking for work actively, after my last exhibition, which was in the end of August. Two weeks is not long time if you are on a holiday, but when you are looking for a job it feels more like two months!

I have been writing covering letters, updating CV’s, searching for interesting companies and evaluating my skills; which I find hardest. As I have no experience from my field, I am in the position of competing for non-paid internships with hundreds of other graduates. This is not a good position to be in. I have my rent and bills to pay, how could I afford working for free??? My strategy is to try to find ‘other’ job first; to get things going, work on my own stuff besides and worry about the internship afterwords.

http://wartimehousewife.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/are-you-looking-for-a-job-here-are-a-few-useful-tips/

I have also applied for two MA courses; one full-time and one part-time course, in different universities. I got accepted in the full-time course, which would be tempting, but way too expensive, as I wouldn’t have time to work besides. I am still waiting for results from the other university. Part-time studies would be great! Thumbs up!!!

Today I got a phone call and an e-mail about two different jobs! I had phone interview, first phone interview in my life, which I think went well. Tomorrow morning I have an appointment about the other job!!! Neither of these is my dream job, but I really need to get something to do before I go crazy! I believe that once I’m ‘out there’ I will make new connections and will eventually land in my dream job (I’m not sure what it would be though) and live happily ever after!

I phoned with my sister yesterday and we talked about how important it is to have ‘structure’ in life. I’m not lazy, but I need timetables and deadlines. I need to know that I have to be somewhere at certain time, other wise I take way too much time just getting out of the bed.

Metal working model used by James Watson and Francis Crick to determine the double-helical structure of the DNA molecule in 1953.

http://lebbeuswoods.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/structure-of-life/

This week I have been quite good in getting up for an early morning run or yoga, but I think I have to make a timetable for myself to ‘work’ effectively for 8-9 hours. In my opinion the problem is namely, that without timetable 1. you feel like you have all the time in the world which makes it difficult when you should finish something, 2. there is no relaxation as you could always do bit more.

Starting tomorrow, bit more structure to my life!

2 responses to “Browsing, looking and waiting

  1. wartimehousewife

    Thanks for the plug and I wish you every success with your job hunting. You sound like a very disciplined and sensible person and I’m sure you won’t have to wait for long. If you remember, would you drop me a line at The Wartime Housewife and let us know how you get on?
    With best wishes
    WH

  2. tiilii

    Thank you TW,

    you made first ever comment on my blog!
    Your ‘looking for a job’ was straight to the point, thanks for that and for your encouraging comment!
    I had my second interview today, suddenly things seem to move fast forward!
    I will let you know…

    Best regards,
    Tiilii

Leave a Reply

